Planning Committee

Meeting of held on Thursday, 28 July 2022 at 6.20 pm in Council Chamber, Town Hall, Katharine Street, Croydon CR0 1NX

MINUTES

Present: Councillors Ian Parker, Sean Fitzsimons, Humayun Kabir, Joseph Lee and

Ellily Ponnuthurai and Nikhil Sherine Thampi

Apologies: Councillor Michael Neal, Leila Ben-Hassel, Clive Fraser, Mark Johnson and

Holly Ramsey

PART A

1/22 Minutes of the Previous Meeting

As this meeting was called urgently the minutes from the previous meeting were not ready for approval. The Committee agreed that this item would be deferred to the next meeting.

2/22 **Disclosure of Interest**

There were no disclosures of a pecuniary interest not already registered.

3/22 Urgent Business

The Committee was called in order to discuss one item of Urgent Business: Political Balance Review and Appointments.

Adrian May, Interim Head of Democratic Services, explained that the purpose of the report was to inform the Committee that the membership of the Planning Sub-Committee, which the Planning Committee as a parent committee was to formally appoint, should reflect the political make-up of the Council. Therefore, the Committee was asked to increase the sub-committee's membership from five to six members.

RESOLVED, to:

- 1. Review the representation of different political groups on the Planning Sub[1]Committee.
- 2. Agree to increase the size of the Planning Sub-committee from 5 to 6 seats.
- 3. Agree the allocation of seats on the Planning Sub-Committee, by applying the political balance rules, to the Conservative and Labour groups as set out in paragraph 2.10 of the report.
- 4. Appoint to the Planning Sub-Committee, in accordance with the wishes of the relevant political group, the 6 Members and 6 substitutes as set out in paragraph 2.13 of the report.
- 5. Note that the Planning Sub-Committee will appoint a Chair, Deputy-Chair (who will deputise in the absence of the Chair) and Vice-Chair when it next meets consistent with the arrangements agreed at the Annual Council Meeting for this Committee.

The meeting ended at 8.06 pm

Signed:	
Date:	